Results of the 46th International Mendeleev Chemistry Olympiad
02-05-2012 19:30
Results of the 46th International Mendeleev Chemistry Olympiad


On 23 - 30 April, 2012, in Astana, the Republican Scientific and Practical Center “Daryn” of the Ministry of Education and Science of Kazakhstan held the 46th International Mendeleev Chemistry Olympiad (hereinafter - the Olympiad).
The Olympiad Opening Ceremony was held at the Palace of Independence on April 24, 2012. The members of the Senate and the Majilis, representatives of the Embassies of the CIS countries, ministries, involved in organizing the Olympiad, Chemistry Teachers from special schools for gifted children, pupils of schools of the Astana city and “Nazarbayev Intellectual School” - members of the Single Children and Youth Organizations “Jas Ulan” presented there as honorary guests.

At the ceremony, M.A. Kul-Muhammed, the Secretary of State of the RK, delivered a message of the President Nursultan Nazarbayev to the participants of the Olympiad, then, B.T.Zhumagulov, the Minister of Education and Science and V.V.Lunin, President of International Mendeleyev Olympiad welcomed the guests and participants.

High school teams from 18 countries: Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bulgaria, Kyrgyzstan, Lithuania, Macedonia, Moldova, Estonia, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Ukraine, Georgia, Hungary, Turkey, France and Kazakhstan took part in the Olympiad.

According to the Regulations, the Olympiad was held in three rounds - two theoretical rounds were conducted in the specially equipped conference hall of Hotel “Duman”, while the experimental round was held in the laboratories of AOO “Nazarbayev University”.

Jury, consisting of well-known scientists of Moscow State University named after M.Lomonosov, Donetsk National University, Belarusian State University, Bashkir Academy of Medicine, University named after Copernicus, AOO “Nazarbayev University” and the Kazakh National University named after al-Farabi evaluated knowledge pf participants of the Olympiad. The students of AOO “Nazarbayev University”, winners and laureates of previous International Chemical Olympiads were involved to coordinate the event.

As a result of the Olympiad, the Kazakhstan team is the third winner of the largest number of medals after Russia and Belarus.

Ashim Kairat, graduate of the Kazakh-Turkish Lyceum of Taraz city, was awarded with the gold medal. Also, the international jury awarded Ashim Kairat with diploma in the nomination “The best experiment”.
Silver medals were awarded to:
Amanzholov Azim- Kazakh-Turkish Lyceum in Astana;
Dolzhnikov Vladimir- Regional Specialized School for gifted children “LORD”,Petropavlovsk;
Kamysbaev Vladislav- Lyceum # 134 of Almaty city;
Myntay Yernar- Kazakh-Turkish Lyceum of Taraz city.

Bronze medals were awarded to:
Tauekelov Medet - KTL, Karaganda;
Murat Sultanov - RSFMSSHI named after O.Zhautykov;
Zagribelny Bogdan - Gymnasium # 1, Taraz;
Adishev Aldiar - KTL, Karaganda;
Ryskulbekov Azamat - KTL, Taraz;
Tinasilov Rahim - RSFMSSHI named after O.Zhautykov;
Tursynkhan Darkhan - NISh, Taldykorgan.
In accordance with the extensive cultural program, the Olympiad participants visited the Museum of the First President of the Republic of Kazakhstan, “Baiterek” Palace of Peace and Harmony, monument “Kazakh Eli”, Independence Palace (Museum of Astana city, Paris Fine Arts Exhibition “Ultrapamyat”, Gallery of Modern Art and Gallery of Applied Arts, these excursions were completed by watching movie in the 4D format “Legend of Baiterek”). Besides, the participants got acquainted with the historical and natural monuments of the resort “Burabai”.
In addition, the cultural and entertainment program “Astana welcomes friends” was organized for the participants of the competition in the new Palace of schoolchildren.
Kazakhstan's authors composed a new anthem of the International Mendeleyev Olympiad as a gift to the Olympiad participants.
On the Decision of the Organizing Committee, the symbolic token to host the next, 47th International Mendeleyev Olympiad was passed to the Uzbekistan national team.