About the Olympiad
The International Mendeleyev Chemistry Olympiad of Schoolchildren is a competition in chemistry, which is held each year in the end of April – early May among schoolchildren of a number of the CIS countries, Baltic states, and .South-East Europe. The Mendeleyev Olympiad is a successor of the All-Union Olympiad in Chemistry and carries on its traditions and numeration. The Olympiad was named after the Great Russian chemist D.I.Mendeleyev.
 
Mendeleyev Olympiads of schoolchildren turned to be a powerful tool to maintain and develop a unified educational space in the participating countries. In particular, for champions and prize winners it is an opportunity of privileged entrance and studies under educational grants in leading Russian institutes of higher education, specifically, at Lomonosov Moscow State University (further the “MSU”).
 
Kazakhstan’s combined team has been participating in the Mendeleyev Olympiad since 1998.
The geography of holding Mendeleyev’s Olympiad and dynamics of the number of its participants is shown in the table below.
Year
Venue
Number of participating countries
 
Number of participants
Number of winners from the RK
participants
Golden
Silver
Bronze
Letter of commendation
1997
Yerevan (Armenia)
8
48
 
 
 
 
 
1998
Issyk-Kul (Kyrgyzstan)
12
68
 
 
 
 
 
1999
Minsk (Belorussia)
11
65
 
 
 
3
 
2000
Baku (Azerbaijan)
10
54
 
 
 
 
 
2001
Moscow (Russia)
13
80
 
 
 
 
 
2002
Almaty (Kazakhstan)
14
85
16
 
4
7
 
2003
Puchshino (Russia)     
12
76
7
 
1
5
1
2004
Kishineu (Moldova)
14
77
6
 
3
3
 
2005
Dushanbe (Tajikistan)
15
87
8
 
2
4
 
2006
Yerevan (Armenia)
15
82
8
 
2
3
 
2007
Minsk (Belorussia)
16
91
10
 
3
3
4
2008
Tashkent (Uzbekistan)
15
85
6
 
4
1
1
2009
Ashgabat (Turkmenia)
13
87
8
 
2
5
 
2010
Baku (Azerbaijan)
14
87
9
3
(1 absolute)
3
2
1
2011
Moscow (Russia)
15
96
12
1
5 (1 best expert)
3
 
 
Total:
 
 
 
4
29
39
7
 
Within the system of high-level subject Olympiads, the Mendeleyev Olympiad takes up a unique position. Actually, chemists turned to be the only ones among the natural scientists, who managed to uphold traditions of the former All-Union Olympiad, which was held each year even after the disintegration of the USSR, however in two directions: All-Russian Olympiad and the Mendeleyev Olympiad. From 2004, in addition to the CIS countries and Baltic states, teams from Bulgaria, Macedonia and Romania started to participate in Mendeleyev’s Olympiads.
 
Participants in the Olympiad are schoolchildren of graduation and pre-graduation classes from among the number of winners of national Olympiads in chemistry. The number of participants in a team of each participating country is established by quota. However, a host country may put up a largest team. Official score of the Mendeleyev Olympiad is individual. 
 
The main working language of the Mendeleyev Olympiad is Russian.
In recent years, at the wish of heads of teams and participants they are offered with an official English translation of tasks and solutions. Also when necessary, heads of teams are given an opportunity to prepare translation of tasks into their national languages.
 
As opposed to the International Chemistry Olympiad (IChO), the scope of chemistry sections, which may be represented at the Mendeleyev Olympiad is not limited by preliminary publication of a training set of tasks. Another one critical difference is the fact that the set of tasks is prepared by the methodological committee, which has relatively regular composition, which allows maintaining the complexity of tasks continuously at a rather high level.
 
Olympiad structure
The Olympiad is held in three rounds: two theoretical and one experimental.
In the first theoretical round the teams do 8 compulsory tasks, which correspond to the program of specialized chemical forms.
 
The second theoretical round (optional round) includes tasks in the following sections: inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, analytical chemistry, physical chemistry, life sciences, and polymers. Each section is represented by three tasks from which only one task with maximum score is taken into account, which allows assessing the universality of a participant’s preparedness. The second round tasks are more difficult as against the first round tasks.
 
The experimental round of the Olympiad implies presence of skills of work in a chemical laboratory, ability to make a chemical analysis of a matter and conduct a synthesis according to a proposed method Generally, the experimental round consists of two main parts: analytical and synthetical ones, as well as several theoretical questions associated with the subject area of the experiment.
 
In the beginning of each theoretical round a participant is given tasks and forms for answers. At the end of a 5 hours round the participants submit their works and receive solutions of tasks, Thus, they can immediately assess the correctness of their solutions. Before checking is made the forms filled in by the participants are codified.
 
During the experimental round, a participant is given papers with instructions on how to conduct an experiment and fields for recording the results by turns in the course of accomplishing tasks, which allows limiting the influence of errors that might be made by participants during the subsequent stages of the experiment.
 
Not the least of the stages of the Olympiad is demonstration of works, where participants are given an opportunity to review their checked works of theoretical rounds and put questions to jury members, who checked their respective tasks.
 
According to the results of three rounds, champions and prize winners are awarded with Golden, Silver and Bronze medals, or Diplomas. Also awards are given for the best solution of theoretical tasks and best execution of experiment. All participants are given with Certificates.
 
MO Jury, Methodological Committee and Organization Committee
MO Jury and Organization Committee were headed in various years by such famous scientists as Academicians of the RAS A.L.Bucachenko, Yu.A. Zolotov, P.D.Sarkissov, Professor Yu.A. Ustynyuk.
 
 
From 1997 till present time the Organization Committee of the Olympiad is headed by Academician of the RAS, Professor, Doctor of chemical sciences, Dean of Chemical Faculty of Lomonosov MSU V.V.Lunin.
 
From 2002 till present time, the Chairman of the Methodological Committee and the International Jury of the IMO is Professor of MSU V.G.Nenaidenko.
 
The composition of the Organization Committee and the Methodological Committee of the MO includes scientists of Lomonosov MSU as well as famous scientists of leading institutes of higher education and chemistry teachers of comprehensive schools of participating countries. The composition of the Methodological Committee of the MO includes students and postgraduate students, who are former champions and prize winners of Mendeleyev Olympiads, which allows upholding traditions and ensures the continuity for years ahead.
 
The MO is held at the cost of sponsor’s funds. During the last ten years, a material portion of expenses is covered by governments of MO hosting countries.

Об олимпиаде
Международная Менделеевская олимпиада школьников по химии (далее ММО) – соревнование по химии, которое проводится ежегодно в конце апреля – начале мая среди школьников ряда стран СНГ, Балтии и Юго-Восточной Европы. ММО является преемницей Всесоюзной химической олимпиады и продолжает ее традиции и нумерацию. Своё название олимпиада получила в честь великого русского химика Д.И. Менделеева.
 
Менделеевские олимпиады школьников оказались мощным инструментом поддержания и развития единого образовательного пространства в странах-участницах. В частности, для победителей и призеров – это возможность поступления на льготных условиях и обучения по образовательным грантам в ведущих российских высших учебных заведениях в частности в Московском государственном университете им. М.В.Ломоносова (далее МГУ).
Казахстанская сборная команда принимает участие в ММО с 1998 года.
 
География проведения Менделеевской олимпиады и динамика числа ее участников за последнее десятилетие представлена в таблице.
Год
Место проведения
Число стран-участ
ниц
Число участ
ников
Число победителей из РК
участ.
золото
серебро
бронза
грамота
1997
Ереван (Армения)
8
48
 
 
 
 
 
1998
Иссык-Куль (Кыргызстан)
12
68
 
 
 
 
 
1999
Минск (Беларусь)
11
65
 
 
 
3
 
2000
Баку (Азербайджан)
10
54
 
 
 
 
 
2001
Москва (Россия)
13
80
 
 
 
 
 
2002
Алматы (Казахстан)
14
85
16
 
4
7
 
2003
Пущино (Россия)    
12
76
7
 
1
5
1
2004
Кишинэу (Молдова)
14
77
6
 
3
3
 
2005
Душанбе (Таджикистан)
15
87
8
 
2
4
 
2006
Ереван (Армения)
15
82
8
 
2
3
 
2007
Минск (Беларусь)
16
91
10
 
3
3
4
2008
Ташкент (Узбекистан)
15
85
6
 
4
1
1
2009
Ашхабад (Туркмения)
13
87
8
 
2
5
 
2010
Баку (Азербайджан)
14
87
9
3
(1 абсолют)
3
2
1
2011
Москва (Россия)
15
96
12
1
5 (1 луч.эксперт.
3
 
 
Итого:
 
 
 
4
29
39
7
 
В системе предметных олимпиад высокого уровня, ММО занимает уникальное положение. Дело в том, что химики оказались единственными среди естественников, сумевшими сохранить традиции бывшей Всесоюзной олимпиады, которая и после распада СССР проводится ежегодно, но уже по двум направлениям: Всероссийская олимпиада и ММО. С 2004 года в Менделеевских олимпиадах, кроме стран СНГ и Балтии начали принимать участие команды Болгарии, Македонии и Румынии.
 
В олимпиаде участвуют школьники выпускных и предвыпускных классов из числа победителей национальных химических олимпиад. Количество участников команды из каждой страны-участницы олимпиады определяется квотой. При этом страна, принимающая у себя олимпиаду, имеет право выставить команду с максимальной численностью.
 
Официальный зачёт ММО – индивидуальный. 
 
Основным рабочим языком ММО является русский.
 
В последние годы, по желанию руководителей команд и участников им предлагается также официальный перевод заданий и решений на английский язык. Также, при необходимости, руководители команд имеют возможность составить перевод заданий на национальные языки.
 
В отличие от Всемирной олимпиады по химии (IChO), круг разделов химии, которые могут быть представлены на ММО, не сужается предварительной публикацией тренировочного комплекта заданий. Другим важным отличием является то, что комплект заданий готовится методической комиссией, имеющей относительно постоянный состав, что позволяет поддерживать сложность заданий на постоянном достаточно высоком уровне.
 
Структура олимпиады
Олимпиада проводится в три тура: два теоретических и один экспериментальный.
 
На первом теоретическом туре команды выполняют 8 обязательных задач, соответствующих программе специализированных химических классов.
 
На втором теоретическом туре (тур по выбору) задания по разделам: неорганическая химия, органическая химия, аналитическая химия, физическая химия, науки о живом и полимеры. Каждый из разделов представлен тремя задачами, из которых засчитывается только одна задача с максимальной оценкой, что позволяет оценить универсальность подготовки участника. Задачи второго тура имеют более высокую сложность по сравнению с задачами первого тура.
 
Экспериментальный тур олимпиады подразумевает наличие у школьников навыков работы в химической лаборатории: умения выполнять химический анализ веществ и проводить синтез по предложенной методике. Как правило, экспериментальный тур состоит из двух основных частей –аналитической и синтетической, а также нескольких теоретических вопросов, связанных с тематикой эксперимента.
 
В начале каждого теоретического тура участник получает задания и бланки для ответов. В конце пятичасового тура участники сдают свои работы и получают решения задач. Таким образом, они сразу могут оценить правильность своих решений. Заполненные участниками бланки ответов шифруются перед проверкой.
 
На экспериментальном туре участник получает листы с указаниями по выполнению эксперимента и полями для записи результатов поочерёдно по ходу выполнения заданий, что позволяет ограничить влияние ошибок, которые могут допустить участники, на последующих стадиях эксперимента.
 
Немаловажным этапом олимпиады является показ работ, на котором участники имеют возможность посмотреть свои проверенные работы по теоретическим турам, и задать вопросы членам жюри, которые проверяли ту или иную задачу.
 
По результатам трёх туров, определяются победители и призеры, которые награждаются золотыми, серебряными, бронзовыми медалями или дипломами. Также назначаются награды за лучшее решение теоретических заданий и лучшее выполнение эксперимента. Всем участникам выдаются сертификаты.
 
Жюри, Методическая комиссия и Оргкомитет ММО
Оргкомитет Олимпиады в разные годы возглавляли такие известные ученые, как академики РАН А.Л. Бучаченко, Ю.А. Золотов, П.Д. Саркисов, профессор Ю.А. Устынюк.
С 1997 г. и по настоящее время Оргкомитет олимпиады возглавляет академик РАН, профессор, доктор химических наук, декан химического факультета МГУ имени М.В. Ломоносова В.В. Лунин.
С 2002 г. и по настоящее время Председателем Методической комиссии и Международного жюри ММО является профессор МГУ В.Г. Ненайденко.
В состав Оргкомитета и Методической комиссии ММО входят ученные МГУ им. М.В.Ломоносова, а также ученные ведущих вузов и учителя химии общеобразовательных школ стран-участниц.
В составе Методической комиссии ММО работают студенты и аспиранты – вчерашние победители и призеры Менделеевских олимпиад; это помогает сохранить традиции и обеспечивает преемственность на годы вперед.